Freedom Fighter

The boys were asking when we would start leaving them home alone.   Mark and I both looked at them like they were crazy.  Jake then kindly offered that we take a vacation and leave them at home.  He pleaded with me, “Mom, we won’t trash the house.  Pinky swear.”

What would happen if someone called and double-dog-dared them to do something?  Would the pinky swear contract hold supreme over the double-dog-dare?  Would they do Rock, Scissor, Paper to resolve this dilemma?  I just don’t know that I’m ready to leave my home in the hands of a guy who still pinky swears. 

~ by karmental on December 19, 2007.

4 Responses to “Freedom Fighter”

  1. trust me, the moment a ddd enters the arena, all bets are off. because a ddd is usually followed by ‘Unless you’re a chicken’. And you don’t want your boys to be chickens.

  2. That’s exactly what I was thinking. My boys are NOT chickens or even remotely chicken material. I did tell them that I thought they would be able to provide for themselves pretty well if we were gone. Jake said, yeah, we shouldn’t use the grill though, right? OMG! He’s 7 and he was already thinking about grilling up a filet mignon the minute we left.

  3. Jake sounds like he’s well on his way to becoming a man. Grilling is an important facet of male existance.

  4. I don’t think I received a working key to my parents house until I was 30… I lived there and didn’t have one. Seriously. Maybe I should stop showing them my scrapbooks…

Leave a comment