ROI from the BOY

Joey wanted to look at scrapbooks tonight.  It was late but I said he could look at one of them.  I’ve moved them upstairs so they’re more accessible and out of any damp air.  For all the time, effort and money I’ve put into those things, I want to make sure they have some chance of lasting long enough to get my money’s worth from all the “archival” quality products one must use to create these things.  The kids love looking at the pictures of when they were little and then they ask a million questions about the pictures or what I’ve written.  They get such a kick out of the stories about when they were babies and the funny things they did.

Here’s the conversation that transpired tonight after Joey finished perusing his scrapbook:

Joey:  Mom, Is it a lot of work to make a scrapbook?

Me:  It is.

Joey:  What’s the hardest part?  First you take pictures – that’s easy.

Me:  Deciding how to arrange the pictures and decorate the page to make it interesting is the hardest part for me.

Joey:  It looks like you put a lot of effort into this.

Me:  (Nodding yes)

Joey:  Impressive.

CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT?  A nine year old calling a scrapbook “impressive”?  What a compliment!  That alone has justified all the effort I’ve poured into creating these books.  To know that they find them enjoyable and important is wonderful.  Maybe I will go for the full Encyclopedia Brittanica of their lives afterall….

~ by karmental on February 16, 2008.

Leave a comment