Duped by the Little Dude

During my short conversation with Mark as I was driving home, he mentioned that Jake got all his spelling words right on the pre-test today.  We were both quite surprised and all proud-y that Jake is really seeming to catch on to this reading and spelling thing.  Since we were gone all weekend and since Jake didn’t bring home the spelling list, we spent about two minutes reviewing the words with him this morning before the pre-test.  Miraculously, he got them all correct without any preparation!  Mark commented that he wouldn’t have believed it if he didn’t see the test with his own eyes.  Jake even got a Great Job sticker. 

When I got home I picked up the spelling test from the counter to take a look at this masterpiece.  Each word was written very neatly with perfect D’Nealian form.   

Even the word Logan was written neatly at the top of the back of the paper. 

Hmmmm… Logan?  That wasn’t on the list of words I looked at.

Here’s the conversation that ensued:

Me:  Hey Jake, great job on the spelling test!  How did you know how to spell all these words without practicing them?

Jake:  I don’t know.  I just did. 

Me:  And did you put Logan’s name on your test for a reason?

Jake:  *Oh Shit!* look crossed his face

Me:  So…where’s your test?  Did you trade it with Logan?

Jake:  No.  I couldn’t find mine so I just picked one.

Mark and I nearly burst out laughing right then.  It was so obvious that Jake was totally convinced we would never notice that the spelling test he brought home wasn’t his.   He hadn’t looked closely enough at the back of the sheet to see Logan’s name written there.  The funny part is that he didn’t even think to write is own name on the front of the paper.  I jokingly commented that Logan was probably grounded for the night for getting all his spelling words wrong.  Jake found that possibility quite amusing.

Jake won’t find practicing the spelling words every night any more amusing than little Logan did though. 

~ by karmental on March 4, 2008.

2 Responses to “Duped by the Little Dude”

  1. Thats awesome. Ted has a similar story…..he once brought home a note that the teachers wanted my parents to sign…..Ted didnt want them to see it so he signed it……”DAD”. Oddly the teacher saw right through that one.

  2. I can totally see that happening in our home too!

Leave a comment