Double Digits

TEN!  I can’t believe my baby is ten already.  Everyone told us that time would fly by and before we knew it, they’d be grown up.  It’s so true.  I can’t believe how fast the time has passed and how much the kids have grown.  Joey has been counting down this birthday for a month even though he didn’t make any demands for cool presents (except for, say, a GECKO!).  He was so excited to hit the big time with double digits.  One and Zero.  Together.  Awesome.  

We let the kids decide what they want to do for their special day.  Since we were in Fargo for the big event, Joey picked a trip to Space Aliens to ring in his eleventh year.  Apparently, in certain Western cultures, when someone finds a way to convert 40 bucks into about $2.00 worth of junk in less than an hour, it deserves a celebration.  The last people to accomplish something that monumental was Enron, wasn’t it? 

I quickly let go of the notion that I was perpetuating the crime of converting hard earned paper ($) to plastic (made in China) when Joey turned to his grandpa and said, “This is the best day of my whole life.  I hope it never ends.” 

Priceless. 

One hour and 701 prize tickets later, Joey was able to buy an armload of prizes including a hollow plastic bat that extended his joy another few hours as he and Jake played baseball and practiced bunting in the yard. 

After a few hours of playing ball in the back yard and dodging the evil neighbor with the incessantly barking Lhasa Apso, we grilled up some Lhasa Apso burgers and brats for dinner.  Joey got to open his presents before we polished off the day with cupcakes, ice cream cake, and an off-key round of Happy Birthday.  I hope my singing didn’t put a damper on an otherwise perfect birthday. 

 

It was indeed a double digit delightful day.

 

~ by karmental on May 27, 2008.

3 Responses to “Double Digits”

  1. Sounds like a blast! A belated Happy Birthday to him!

    FYI – My girls love the Space Aliens in Blaine and drain my wallet every time we go there! 🙂

  2. OMG, I cannot believe how big these kids are. I remember when Joey was just a wish and Hoover was just a vacuum cleaner in your house.

    I so feel blessed to see pictoral evidence that they are so healthy and well-loved, and I’m smiling at the thought of their Grampa witnessing this special day at this Martian version of Chucky Cheese meets the carnie.

    Circling around Uranus gets a big thumbs up!

  3. Did I see the Carnivore busting a move in one of those pics? They’re getting HUGE! When I’m done here I’ll have to come up and spoil them rotten!

Leave a comment