Lassie Lives

Spent my work week working from home.  IN MY PAJAMAS!  YESSSSSSSSSS!  Nothing makes me more content than spending the entire day in my PJs (except when I have to answer the door at 2 in the afternoon in them).  I got thrown onto a project and was asked to manage the user acceptance testing piece of it.  In the world of virtual teams, this means that I got to spend 5 hours every day on teleconferences staring at a shared computer screen.  Tethered to my chair.  Focusing on every word eminating from my speaker phone.  Thank God I have a speaker phone.  The headsets at work give me a headache after about 15 minutes.  Hanging out at home, in my jammies, with windows open and light pouring in, enjoying endless cups of chai lattes (FREE), and not having my head squeezed into the shape of Mr. Peanut’s – all made for a pretty good week despite the cluster-fuck unraveling on the other end of the phone/web-ex.

At one point, an Oriole flew up to my window and pecked at the glass.  I looked at him.  He looked at me.  He squawked and flapped.  I stared at him.  He flew to the deck rail and jumped around as if attempting to ensure he had my attention.  Then he returned to the window, pecked at it again and squawked some more.  I felt like I should be understanding what he was telling me,  “What, Timmy’s in the well?  He fell in?  Oh No!”  Show me.  Take me to him little Oriole!” 

I’m not sure, but staring at a computer screen while consuming excess amounts of chai may cause hallucinations.  We’ll see what the hummingbirds have to say next week when we begin round two of testing. 

~ by karmental on May 31, 2008.

2 Responses to “Lassie Lives”

  1. I think you may need to lay off of the caffeine…. 😉

  2. You’re dazed, bewildered, trapped in a world without time…where sounds collide and colors explode…you see a sign post up ahead. You’re not in any old sun-room off the kitchen…you’ve entered…the Twilight Zone.

Leave a comment